Share This

Photo: N/A, License: N/A


Photo: N/A, License: N/A


A hotly contested race for Wyoming County commissioner will highlight the May 21 primary election ballot.

With last Tuesday’s (March 12) deadline for filing candidate petitions now passed, three Democrats and seven Republican commissioner candidates will battle in the primary hoping to advance to the municipal election Nov. 5. That’s when the top two primary vote-getters from each party will compete for spots on the three-member board of commissioners.

On the Democratic side, newcomers Ernie King, Mick Cronin and Rick Hiduk will be squaring off. Incumbent Mike Stabinsky, who was appointed this winter to fill a vacancy created by Ron Williams’ death is not running in the primary.

Fighting for the two Republican nominations are incumbent commissioner Tom Henry, and six challengers: Sandra Ritz, Rick Wilbur, Randy White, Gene Dziak Sr., Tina Henning, and Daniel Gay. Judy Kraft Mead, who’s held the post for more than 19 years is not running for reelection and will retire at the end of the year.

Of the other contested races on the Republican ballot, the ones to watch are incumbent Karen Bishop and newcomer Cindy Zika Newhart for prothonotary; Bob Roberts and David Smith for Sheriff; incumbent Kenny White and Mark Novak for Eaton Twp. Supervisor; incumbent Roy Landsiedel and Luke Franko for Falls Twp. Supervisor; incumbent William Smith and Verne Croasdale for Nicholson Twp. Supervisor; incumbent Gerald Fritsch Jr. and John Walsh for Overfield Twp. Supervisor; and incumbent Marshall Davis and Ronald Coolbaugh for Tunkhannock Borough Councilman, Ward 4.

Of the contested races for school board, incumbents David Thorne and Joe Strauch face a challenge from Brian Petula for two seats in Lackawanna Trail’s Region 1 which includes Clinton Twp., Nicholson Twp., and Nicholson Borough. In Wyoming Area, incumbents Toni Valenti and Gerald Stofko will be challenged by Matt Bartoli, Lara Best, Ross Giamusso, Leonard Pribula Jr. and Philip Campenni for five at-large spots.

Write-ins could be a big factor as well because no one filed for councilman spots in Factoryville Borough, Ward 1; Laceyville Borough; and Tunkhannock Borough, Ward 1; or for Braintrim Twp. Supervisor.

List of candidates

Here is a complete list of candidates who filed petitions to run in the Wyoming County primary as of Tuesday’s, March 12, 4 p.m. filing deadline.

Democrats are listed with a ‘D’ next to their names and Republicans with an ‘R.’ School Board candidates who have filed for both party nominations are listed with both letters.

Wyoming County

COMMISSIONER: Ernie King (D), Mick Cronin (D), Rick Hiduk (D), Sandra Ritz (R), Rick Wilbur (R), Randy White (R), Tom Henry (R), Gene Dziak Sr. (R), Tina Henning (R), Daniel Gay (R).

AUDITOR: Laura Dickson (D), Ashley Darby (R), Judy Shupp (R).

PROTHONOTARY and CLERK OF COURTS: Cindy Zika Newhart (R), Karen Bishop (R).


SHERIFF: Bob Roberts (R), David M. Smith (R)


and Townships

BRAINTRIM: Supervisor: No one filed.

CLINTON: Supervisor: Paul Corby (R).

EATON: Auditor(6yrs): Evelyn Dana (R). Supervisor: Mark A. Novak (R), Kenny White (R).

EXETER: Auditor (4yrs): Leanne G. Hopkins (R); Auditor (2yrs): William D. Hopkins (R); Supervisor (6yrs): Bobby Montross (R); Supervisor(4yrs): Carol Bardzel.

FACTORYVILLE: Councilman, Ward 1 (No one filed for the 3 seats).

FALLS: Supervisor: Luke Franko (R); Roy Landsiedel (R); Constable: Cody Stanco (R).

FORKSTON: Auditor (6yrs): Monica Denison (R); Auditor (4yrs): Chantel Bennett (R) Supervisor: William H. Severcool Jr. (D)

LACEYVILLE: Auditor (6yrs): Andrea Robinson (R); Councilman (No one filed for 3 seats).

LEMON: Supervisor: Robert Sickler (R).

MEHOOPANY: Supervisor: D. Loren Day (R).

MESHOPPEN BORO: Councilman: Cindy Cona (R), no one filed for 3 other seats; Mayor: Bruce Marshall (R).

MESHOPPEN TWP: Supervisor: Joe Sternick (R).

MONROE: Supervisor: Charles Dale Wright (R)

NICHOLSON BORO: Councilman: Albert William Olive (R), John R. Bower (R), no one filed for one other seat.

NICHOLSON TWP: Supervisor: Verne Croasdale (R), William Smith (R).

NORTH BRANCH: Supervisor: Timothy Poole (R).

NORTHMORELAND: Auditor (6yrs): Shirley Marie Wall (R); Supervisor: William L. Wagner (R).

NOXEN: Supervisor: David Hettesheimer (R).

OVERFIELD: Supervisor: John Walsh (R), Gerald Fritsch Jr. (R).

TUNKHANNOCK BORO: Councilman, Ward 1: No one filed; Councilman, Ward 2: Benjamin Barziloski (R); Councilman (4yrs), Ward 3: Ruth A. Vincenti (R); Councilman (2yrs), Ward 3: Dave Wiggins (R); Councilman, Ward 4: Marshall R. Davis (R), Ronald Coolbaugh (R); Constable, Ward 2: Steven Redding (R).

TUNKHANNOCK TWP: Auditor (6yrs): Linda Stacknick (R); Supervisor: Glenn Ace Shupp (R).

WASHINGTON: Auditor (4yrs): Deborah Carichner (R); Auditor (2yrs): Carl Grabner (R); Supervisor: Daniel Huff (R); Constable: Darrin Chesner (R).

WINDHAM: Supervisor: Stephen H. GrowJr. (R).

School Districts

ELK LAKE: Region 4: Harold Bender (R)

LACKAWANNA TRAIL: Region 1: David A. Thorne (D/R); Joe Strauch (D/R); Brian Petula (D/R); Region 2: Michael W. Mould (D/R).

LAKE-LEHMAN: Region 1: Lorraine Farrell (D), John McDonald (D).

TUNKHANNOCK AREA: Region 1: Lori Bennett (R); Region 2: William Prebola (R); William R. Weidner (R); Region 3: John Burke (D/R).

WYOMING AREA: Toni Valenti, Gerald Stofko, Matt Bartoli, Lara Ann Best, Ross Giamusso, Leonard Pribula Jr., Phillip Campenni.

WYALUSING AREA: Region 3: Barbara Prevost (D); Doug Eberlin (D/R).