Share This

Photo: N/A, License: N/A


Photo: N/A, License: N/A


Voters let their voices be heard in Wyoming County on May 21, but voter turnout was low.

In a hotly contested Wyoming County commissioners race, incumbent commissioner Tom Henry and Exeter Twp. supervisor Rick Wilbur emerged from a field of seven to be the Republican nominees. On the Democratic side, it was local businessman and former Nicholson Mayor Ernie King and former Tunkhannock Area School Board member Mick Cronin.

The upset of the evening was for Prothonotary/Clerk of Courts, where incumbent Karen Bishop was beat by paralegal Cindy Zika Newhart by 398 votes. However, Karen Bishop won the Democratic nomination with 165 write-in votes to Newhart’s 89. So, the two are expected to face off again in November.

Tunkhannock Borough Police Officer Bob Roberts, with 2,795 votes, also had a more than 2-1 edge for sheriff over deputy sheriff David Smith, with 1,175 votes, to replace Ned Sherman who decided not to seek reelection. Roberts also won the Democratic nomination with 130 write-ins to Smith’s 59.

For Register of Wills and Recorder of Deeds, Dennis Montross received 3,844 votes on the Republican ballot.

In a special election open to all voters, not just Democrats and Republicans, Fred Keller will become the next 12th District representative in Congress. The Republican won with 4,009 votes compared to Democrat Marc Freidenberg’s 1,909 votes. Keller won all precincts except for Factoryville Borough Ward 2.

Three upsets came in municipal races on the GOP ballot where in Tunkhannock Borough Council (Ward 4), incumbent Marshall Davis was turned back by newcomer Ron Coolbaugh, 51-28; and in Nicholson Twp., where supervisor William Smith was beat by Verne Croasdale, 130-48; and in Overfield Twp., where supervisor Gerald Fritsch lost to John Walsh, 117-110.

Incumbency went well elsewhere in the Republican Primary where Eaton Twp. supervisor Ken White turned back a challenge from Mark Novak, 192-73; and Falls Twp. Supervisor Roy Landseidel turned back a challenge from Luke Franko, 201-104.

On the Lackawanna Trail School Board race for Region 1, Brian Petula and incumbent David Thorne outpolled incumbent Joseph Strauch on both the Republican and Democratic tickets to claim the two available seats.

Write-ins also played a role in getting some candidates on the November ballot, but they will only get on the ballot if they file the necessary paperwork in the county elections office.

A complete list of municipal results will appear in our June 5 issue.

GENERAL ELECTION Congress 12th District

Marc Friedenberg (D) 1,909; Fred Keller (R) 4,009


REPUBLICAN PRIMARY Wyoming County Commissioner

Rick Wilbur 1,913; Tom Henry 1,611; Sandra Ritz 1,177; Daniel Gay 968; Randy White 786; Gene Dziak Sr. 671; Tina Henning 443.


Judy Shupp 3,254; Ashley Darby 1,750.


Cindy Zika Newhart 2,181; Karen Bishop 1,783.


David M. Smith 1,144 29.68%

Bob Roberts 2,702 44.94%

Register of Wills/Recorder of Deeds

Dennis Montross 3,735 99.84%

Tunkhannock Borough Council (Ward 4)

Marshall Davis 28; Ron Coolbaugh 51.

Nicholson Twp Supervisor

William Smith 48; Verne Croasdale 130.

Overfield Twp. Supervisor

Gerald Fritsch 110; John Walsh 117.

Eaton Twp. Supervisor

Ken White 192; Mark Novak 73.

Falls Twp. Supervisor

Roy Landseidel 201; Luke Franko 104.

Lackawanna Trail School Board Region 1

Brian Petula 268; David Thorne 210; Joe Strauch 167.


DEMOCRATIC PRIMARY Wyoming County Commissioner

Ernie King 799; Mick Cronin 756; Rick Hiduk 602.


Laura Dickson 1,437

Lackawanna Trail School Board Region 1

Brian Petula 131; David Thorne 114; Joe Strauch 54 .